Time to Pace!

This weekend I am headed to Pittsburgh, PA for the Dicks Sporting Goods Pittsburgh Marathon.  This race is providing a great opportunity for American distance runners to achieve the Olympic Trials standards.  The commitment to helping American distance running from the folks at the Pittsburgh Marathon is outstanding.  I will be flying in to pace the women to the Olympic Trials A Standard of sub 2:39:00.  I have been told that there are six women looking to achieve the time standard!  For me, it’s a great opportunity to give back to the sport I love and get in a quality training run of my own.

Bill Brink of the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette wrote an excellent piece of the importance of pacers at this event.  You can read the article here – http://www.post-gazette.com/pg/11132/1145972-139-0.stm?cmpid=sports.xml.

Hopefully I’ll be posting early next week with fantastic results that all six women hit the standard, but it is a 26.2 mile event and a lot of things can happen in the race.  I’m going to try my best, much like the Pittsburgh Marathon has done its best in helping American distance running!

You can read the bio’s of the pacers here – http://www.pittsburghmarathon.com/Left_Nav/Race_Participants/Olympic_Qualifying_Program/Olympic_Trials_Qualifying_Pacers.htm

Leave a Reply

