Helping American Distance Running: Pittsburgh Marathon

Hello everyone,

This week I have finalized that I will be at the Dick’s Sporting Goods Pittsburgh Marathon to pace the women to an Olympic Trials ‘A’ Qualifying Standard (sub 2:39). The DSG Pittsburgh Marathon committee contacted me to see if I would be willing and able to travel to Pittsburgh to help American women achieve the Olympic Trials A standard.  The marathon is offering significant bonuses for Americans with the following incentives, which are in addition to the overall prize money…

Olympic Trial “A” Qualifying Time Prizes
1st Place $1500 in cash, $500 gift certficate for Dick’s Sporting Goods and $250 gift certificate for GNC
2nd Place $1000 in cash, $500 gift certificate for Dick’s Sporting Goods and $250 gift certificate for GNC
3rd Place $100 in cash, $500 gift certificate for Dick’s Sporting Goods and $250 gift certificate for GNC
Olympic Trial “B” Qualifying Time Prizes
All others $500 in cash

 

As a young American distance runner it is certainly a challenge to make it in this sport. When marathons like (my doubt) California International Marathon and DSG Pittsburgh Marathon offer incentives it is monumental for guys and girls like me.  I’ll never forget receiving the $1,000 check in the mail for achieving the Olympic Trials standard at CIM and knowing how much it helps.

I’m very close with my family and have not seen my mom or dad since Christmas.  They will make the trip across the state to see me pace the women.  It will be great to see them in mid-May as well!  It is also perfect timing for a hard long run in preparation for the Grandma’s Marathon June 18th where I will be competing and not pacing!  A big thank you to DSG Pittsburgh Marathon and I’m very excited to help women achieve the standard!

Hope to see you in Pittsburgh May 15th!

-Tyler

One thought on “Helping American Distance Running: Pittsburgh Marathon

Leave a Reply

