I’m Fit

The headline of the blog post says it all – I’m fit.  This Saturday is the USA Half-Marathon Championships in Houston, Texas.  I’m ready to toe the line and compete to the best of my abilities on the streets of Houston.  Almost two months ago on Dec 5th, 2010 at the California International Marathon (CIM) I debuted in 2:17:22.  Since then, I’ve recovered well and trained ‘optimally’ as I build my fitness towards my next races and goal races.  I figured I write a bit about my training post CIM since I have had quite a number of people asking me about how much time I took off and what I did to come back.

*Note that I should preface this post on training by saying that I am currently self-coached with a few people giving me advice.  I only say this because as most of you know I was coached by Jay Johnson in the fall, and I do not want to tarnish his reputation/trainings/ideas in anyway by posting training that anyone reading might think is his.  In early January I left the group because it was not a good fit for me.  Enough said…back to my training…

Weekly Mileage Post CIM:

  • Week 1: 2.5 miles + lots of easy easy biking
  • Week 2: 60 miles + some biking
  • Week 3: 77 miles
  • Week 4: 89 miles
  • Week 5: 107 miles
  • Week 6: 109 miles
  • Week 7: 91 miles
  • Week 8: This week – 48 miles in last 3 days (M,Tu,W)

In terms of workouts, I’ve done some pretty good stuff that has given me a lot of confidence that I’m ready for battle in Houston.  In a four day stretch I had a little 4.1 mile cross country race in Boulder, a 2:25 long run easy, a 15.5 mile double with speed drills + hill sprints, and a session of 5×1600 in 4:58-4:51.  Amazingly, I felt great the fifth day and cruised an easy 90 minutes and had to slow down after a 5:50 9th mile.  It was a good thing I got my only run that day done early because it was about 35F and sunny when I ran, but when I woke up from my nap it was snowing, windy, and about 20F.  Since then, I’ve had a really good tempo session on the treadmill and a nice 800 repeat workout too.

What makes this training “optimal” as I mentioned in the first paragraph?  I’m generally very good at listening to my body.  Since January 1st, only 1 day have I missed my late morning/early afternoon nap!  I’ve been sleeping a solid 7.5-8hrs a night and napping between 30-60 minutes.  For me, that as much sleep as my body can do!  I can tell when I’m red-lining and pushing too hard in practice when I am irritable and can’t sleep.  In addition, I feel rejuvenated and very happy right now.  I’ve surrounded myself with two very positive and great friends in Benita and Carney as well as an outstanding group that we meet to run with on Wednesdays and Sundays.  Last week I sat down and have coffee with Benji Durden (2:09:58 at Boston Marathon in 1983, Olympian (minus the boycott) in 1980) and listened to his inspiring stories and great advice.  Very refreshing to hear him and his wife so excited to give me advice and tell stories of their marathons – which combined they have done over 100!!!!

I’m going to the start line on Saturday morning fit, healthy, and happy.  I have a positive outlook on the race and am excited for the opportunity to compete against many great American athletes and see the Olympic Trials course for 2012.  Thanks for reading and all the support.  This is my first half-marathon of 2012, and as my favorite book (The Power of One) says, “First with the head, then with the heart, that’s how you stay ahead from the start.”

Cheers,

Ty…or more affectionately known as, “The Weatherman”

3 thoughts on “I’m Fit

  1. Best of luck this weekend Tyler. Good job listening to your body. Looking forward to seeing the results of the race, you’re going to fly.

  2. Thank you Neal! We should meet up for a run sometime. There’s a big group that meets at the Boulder Res main entrance at 8:15am every Wednesday if you want to join! Hope your training is going well!!

Leave a Reply

