2010 Year in Review: Training

In my last post I highlighted my races for the year.  In other years, I would have likely flipped the sequence of first posting training and then posting racing. This year, racing well took priority and I had less mistakes where I did not allow myself to be “fresh” and “rested” for competition.  I finally lost the idea that I HAD to run certain mileage before race or I would “lose” my fitness.  I realized that running a few miles shorter each day leading up to a race would let my legs feel better and I was able to compete better. Thus, I first posted about racing and now I’m going to post about training in 2010.

Let me tell you the secret of my training.  It’s simple and you don’t want to hear (read) it.  The secret is…consistency!  There are no magical workouts, no specific pace that is absolutely perfect and can make or break a race.  No, the key is to have consistent and quality workouts/mileage.  I missed one day of training in the entire 2010 year due to illness or injury.  That was November 6th when I believe I had a nasty case of food poisoning.  Sure I had days off, in fact I had weeks off, this year but I never had a sickness or injury bad enough to have me miss a day of training.  I have been very fortunate to have great coaches over the past few years that helped me stay healthy.  In 2008 and 2009 I missed a couple of days with the flu or a sore ankle, but it’s been three years (actually longer) of very consistent training. In 2008 and 2009 I ended the years with 4558 and 4238 miles respectively.  In 2010 I had a very similar number – 4225 miles, or an average of approximately 82.5 miles per week! I averaged just under 10 runs per week (i.e. three doubles a week) with an average long run of 13.8 miles.  (Note: the weeks during time off ARE counted in this, so there were at 2-3 weeks of a long run of “3 or 4 miles” which skew the numbers lower). My highest mileage week topped out at 120 miles and my longest long run was the marathon -26.2.

 

Now that 2010 is over, I look forward to a brief training segment before the Houston Half-Marathon, which is the US Championships this year.  I’ve come off of the marathon healthy and ready to start getting to work.  This past week was just about 90 miles and next week I’ll be back at nearly full volume.  Hope everyone had a great 2010 year of training and best wishes on a successful 2011!

-Tyler … or “TrackTy” …or my new nickname from Carney, “The Weatherman”

One thought on “2010 Year in Review: Training

Leave a Reply

