California International Marathon Tomorrow!!

Hello!

Tomorrow is the California International Marathon and barring a disaster in the next 24 hours, I’ll be at the start line at 6:59am PST fit, healthy, and excited to get the race started.   The staff at the California International Marathon has been extremely helpful and I’m very thankful they gave me the opportunity to compete tomorrow.  Yesterday, with the exception of a crying baby next to me on the flight, I traveled here with no headaches.  After an easy six miles, I went to the expo to pick up my race bib number and then our hospitality sweet to talk to other athletes and the elite race coordinator.  After that, I got my 16 bottles together.  I doubt I’ll take all the bottles – or even half, but with 150 elites in the race and one table of elite bottles it is going to be challenging to find my bottle each time.

All of my fluid bottles for the marathon

If you want to “track me” you can go to this website (http://www.flashresults.com/2011_Meets/CIM/) to follow my progress. The race starts at 7am and the website will give splits for any individual athlete (I’m also bib #41) as well as the leaderboard.  The slits will be for mile 5.9, half-marathon, and 20 miles.  After the finish I’ll try to tweet my results when I get the chance.  Thank you everyone for the support going into the race!  I’m still 24 hours from the race and I’ve received so many texts, facebook posts, tweets, e-mails, and phone calls wishing me good luck!  All of that support I’m saying in my “back pocket” for those last few miles when mind over matter is key.  I’m physically and mentally well-prepared for this race.  I’ve heard the comment that I’m “too confidence and the marathon is a humbling event.”  Yes, history has shown the marathon is a humbling event – but why stress over the things that can go wrong?  Sure it’s supposed to be rainy and windy tomorrow and the competition is the deepest in the history of CIM, but that doesn’t change the fact I’ve prepared well for this.  Stress is self-made, it’s the opposition to something.  I can’t control the weather, I can’t change whether or not I simply have a good day or bad day, but I can control my outlook and attitude.  Author Aldous Huxley said it best, “In all activities of life, the secret of efficiency lies in an ability to combine two seemingly incompatible states: a state of maximum activity and a state of maximum relaxation.” Another good quote is from Chuang Tzu, “When archers shoot for enjoyment, they have all their skill; when they shoot for a brass buckle, they get nervous; when they shoot for a prize of gold, they begin to see two targets.”  My wonderful Mom gave me great advice the other day.  She once yelled “Run, Tyler McCandless Run” during the last lap of a 3200 on a track – which I still make fun of her for that profound advice, but her advice was perfect this time.  Talking about the marathon she said, “Hey, you love running.  On Sunday you get to do what you love for 26.2 miles, have fun!”

California International Marathon Spectator Guide: Elite Athletes To Watch

Thank you everyone for the support and encouragement.  I look forward to the tougher miles later in the race when the opportunity to prove myself is presented.  I’m ready for a challenge, and there is no better challenge than trying to run 26.2 miles in under 5:18 per mile!

Good luck to all athletes racing tomorrow!

Tyler

3 thoughts on “California International Marathon Tomorrow!!

  1. You are going to do great, Tyler. I’m with you, sure it’s your first 26.2 mile race and certainly it can be a humbling experience but you are very well prepared and no matter what, you’ll get that “first” out of the way and have an amazing experience. It took me until my third marathon to feel humbled by it. I trained well for the first two and they both felt so much easier than my third. That’s not to say that I didn’t train well for my third, things just didn’t line up as well for me in that one and in the end it was a tougher race for me, both physically and mentally. I definitely believe that confidence can go a long way.

    You have a great approach: confident and relaxed. You know to expect it to get tough and that gives you an edge. Only you know how you can truly handle difficulties when you face them, I am sure you will rise to the challenge.

    Have fun and in those final miles, when you start to feel the pain, try to force a smile either on your face or in your mind and push through.

    Good luck!

  2. Wishing you the best on your first marathon, enjoy the distance. I always try to remember the Latin phrase – “Plus Est En Vous” when I hit the last 10k meaning “More in You”

  3. Congrats Tyler. Awesome Debut..and Way to get the trials standard and then some. Met you at the Finish Line. Look forward to seeing you run the trials.

Leave a Reply

