The Faint of Heart Never …

Well, I’m sitting here in a coffee shop in downtown Berkley, California less than 24 hours from the San Francisco 2nd Half-Marathon.  Tomorrow at 8:15 AM Pacific, I’ll be toeing the line with one goal: qualify for the 2012 Olympic Trials Marathon (USATF allows you to qualify for the Olympic Trials marathon with a sub 1:05:00 half-marathon).  I have had a great year from earning NCAA D1 All-American in the 10k on the track to a great race at the Utica Boilermaker 15k.  My last day completely off from running was January 16th and since then I’ve averaged more than 85 miles per week.  I’m fit, very excited, and extremely positive about the challenge in front of me: average 4:57.42 per mile for 13.1 miles.  At Utica Boilermaker 15k – a very hilly course in moderately hot but quite humid conditions – I averaged 4:56.54 pace for 9.3 miles.  So, am I capable of sub 1:05? Definitely Yes!  Tomorrow I’ll have to face several different challenges: the lack of competition (rumor has it that there is no prize money and the elite race coordinator informed me I’ll likely be the only one shooting for sub 1:05 – but you never know…), some rolling hills through Golden Gate park, and potentially breezy conditions.  However, I’m ready for anything and thankful to have a great support system that has carried me through this entire year: from my teamates at PSU, Coach Beth Alford-Sullivan (who is the most positive coach I have ever met and made the past four years extraordinarily fun), a great training partner and friend Luke Watson, my wonderful family, Patrick Reaves who has been gracious enough to let me crash his couch for this race, my sponsors Athletes Honey Milk and Sigvaris, and all of my friends that have supported me through tweets, facebook posts, text messages, phone calls, and high fives.   Also, a big thank you to Delta/PSU Track for taking me to enough races where I was able to collect enough frequent flyer miles to make this trip affordable!

A quote I once was told by PSU assistant coach Artie Gilkes… “the faint of heart never …”  The rest of the quote I’ll leave up to the reader, since it may or may not be R rated.  But basically, if you’re not fearless – you’re never going to do anything extraordinary.  Tomorrow from 8:15:00 AM to 9:19:59 AM, I’m doing something extraordinary!

All my best,

Tyler

P.S. feel free to leave me a comment on the site!!

6 thoughts on “The Faint of Heart Never …

  1. Hey Tyler,

    I just wanted to wish you the best of luck tomorrow. You are way faster that I will ever be, however, I have run SF (I did the full marathon in 08) . . . I think the 2nd half will be much easier having not worn your legs down on the 1st half before hand. I struggled on the downhill part, but I would imagine your legs should still be relatively fresh at that time. Again, best of luck up there tomorrow!

  2. Zach,
    Thank you very much for the very nice comments! How is your training and racing going? Any upcoming marathons for you? Thanks again for taking the time to read my blog and the very nice comments! Look forward to hearing about how you are doing!
    Take care,
    Tyler

Leave a Reply

